The New York League of Conservation Voters Gives Green has announced its latest round of endorsements in the 2022 general election cycle, endorsing 32 candidates for elections across New York. A record number of candidates are seeking NYLCV’s endorsement this year, and to date, NYLCV has endorsed more than 125 candidates, making it another record-setting endorsement year.

“We are proud to endorse this round of candidates who have proven their commitment to protecting the environment. To fight climate change, we must ensure that our elected officials at every level of government are taking action to protect our water, air, and open spaces, advocating for clean energy and transportation, and creating green jobs for our communities. It is critical that voters know which candidates are making the environment a priority, especially as voters are caring more and more about climate change. We are confident that these endorsed candidates will be strong champions for the environment and create a cleaner, healthier future for New Yorkers,” said Julie Tighe, President of the New York League of Conservation Voters.

Every election year, NYLCV develops candidate questionnaires based on the League’s policy priorities. The NYLCV Board voted to make the endorsement on the recommendations of NYLCV Chapters across the State, which make decisions based on interviews with the candidates, scorecard ratings and questionnaire responses. The candidates being endorsed can be found below.

U.S. Congress
 Bridget Fleming, NY-1
 Laura Gillen, NY-4
 Carlina Rivera, NY-10
 Carolyn Maloney, NY-12
 Jerrold Nadler, NY-12 *formerly NY-10
 Sean Patrick Maloney, NY-17 *formerly NY-18
 Francis Conole, NY-22

State Senate
 Toby Stavisky, District 11 *formerly District 16
 John Liu, District 16 *formerly District 11
 Iwen Chu, District 17
 Jessica Scarcella-Spanton, District 23
 Andrew Gounardes, District 26 *formerly District 22
 Brian Kavanagh, District 27 *formerly District 29
 Nathalia Fernandez, District 34
 Michelle Hinchey, District 41 *formerly District 46
 James Skoufis, District 42 *formerly District 39
 Michelle Ostrelich, District 44
 Neil Breslin, District 46 *formerly District 44
 Brad Hoylman, District 47 *formerly District 27
 Rachel May, District 48 *formerly District 53
 Elizabeth Crowley, District 59 *formerly District 17
 Sean Ryan, District 61 *formerly District 60
 Monica Martinez, District 4
 John Brooks, District 5 *formerly District 8

State Assembly
 Grace Lee, District 65
 Alex Bores, District 73
 MaryJane Shimsky, District 92
 Matthew Slater, District 94
 Jonathan Jacobson, District 104

* Some of the Congressional and Senate candidates were endorsed previously under the prior district maps, and the Board has voted to affirm those endorsements or clarify where a district number has changed.

For a complete list of all NYLCV endorsed candidates for the 2022 General Election, click here.

The New York League of Conservation Voters is the only non-partisan, statewide environmental organization in New York that takes a pragmatic approach to fight for clean water, healthy air, renewable energy, and open space. For more information, visit www.nylcv.org.