NYLCV Announces 85 Endorsements Across New York for the 2024 Election

The League kicks off Earth Month with one of the largest slates of endorsements in its 35-year history; including Sen. Gillibrand for U.S. Senate, eight candidates for U.S. Congress, 23 candidates for State Senate, and 53 candidates for State Assembly

With a total of 85 new endorsements across the state, the New York League of Conservation Voters Gives Green is proud to support a bipartisan slate of candidates for the 2024 election. 

“After the hottest year on record and a relentless onslaught of extreme weather – including apocalyptic oranges skies from wildfires hundreds of miles away and catastrophic flooding that paralyzed New York City and forced some state parks and the subway to close – the environment and climate change are poised to be pivotal election issues in 2024,” said NYLCV President Julie Tighe. “We are thrilled to endorse this slate of candidates for elected office and we are confident they will be strong advocates for clean energy, green jobs, and a healthier future, and we urge voters to support them in their upcoming election.”

Last year was a big year for the environment at the ballot box. An overwhelming majority—nearly 90%—of the candidates NYLCV endorsed won in the general election, showing once again that New York State is trending in the right direction in its fight to protect the environment and address the climate crisis. NYLCV looks forward to carrying this momentum into the 2024 election and beyond.

The League previously endorsed candidates in three special elections in 2024, including Tom Suozzi (NY-3) and Tim Kennedy (NY-26) for U.S. Congress and Landon Dais (AD-77) for State Assembly, bringing the year’s total endorsements to 88. 

Suozzi and Dais were both victorious, while early voting for the NY-26 special election will run from April 20 – April 28 with Election Day on April 30.

For this new slate of endorsed candidates, early voting for the primary election runs from June 15 – 23, with primary Election Day on June 25. The general election will be held on November 5, 2024. 

NYLCV will announce additional endorsements later this election season.

You can search our running list of endorsements by region or office here.

NYLCV’s 2024 endorsed candidates: 

U.S. Senate:

Kirsten Gillibrand


U.S. Congress:

Grace Meng, NY-6
Nydia Velazquez, NY-7
Dan Goldman, NY-10
Jerrold Nadler, NY-12
Adriano Espaillat, NY-13
Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, NY-14
Paul Tonko, NY-20
Joe Morelle, NY-25


State Legislature (by region)

New York City, State Senate:

James Sanders Jr., SD-10
Toby Ann Stavisky, SD-11
Jessica Ramos, SD-13
Joseph Addabbo, Jr., SD-15
Julia Salazar, SD-18
Zellnor Myrie, SD-20
Kevin Parker, SD-21
Andrew Gounardes, SD-26
Liz Krueger, SD-28
Jose Serrano, SD-29
Robert Jackson, SD-31
Luis Sepúlveda, SD-32
Gustavo Rivera, SD-33
Nathalia Fernandez, SD-34
Brad Hoylman-Sigal, SD-47

New York City, State Assembly:

Stacey Pheffer Amato, AD-23
Nily Rozic, AD-25
Andrew Hevesi, AD-28
Steven Raga, AD-30
Khaleel Anderson, AD-31
Jenifer Rajkumar, AD-38
Catalina Cruz, AD-39
Ron Kim, AD-40
Brian Cunningham, AD-43
Robert Carroll, AD-44
William Colton, AD-47
Emily Gallagher, AD-50
Jo Anne Simon, AD-52
Phara Souffrant Forrest, AD-57
Grace Lee, AD-65
Deborah Glick, AD-66
Linda Rosenthal, AD-67
Al Taylor, AD-71
Manny De Los Santos, AD-72
Alex Bores, AD-73
Harvey Epstein, AD-74
Tony Simone, AD-75
Rebecca Seawright, AD-76
Jeffrey Dinowitz, AD-81
Michael Benedetto, AD-82
Yudelka Tapia, AD-86
Karines Reyes, AD-87

Long Island, State Assembly:

Michael Durso, AD-9
Steve Stern, AD-10
Charle Lavine, AD-13
Gina Sillitti, AD-16
Michaelle Solages, AD-22

Westchester, State Senate:

Shelley Mayer, SD-37
Peter Harckham, SD-40

Westchester, State Assembly:

Amy Paulin, AD-88
Gary Pretlow, AD-89
Nader Sayegh, AD-90
Steven Otis, AD-91
MaryJane Shimsky, AD-92
Chris Burdick,  AD-93
Dana Levenberg, AD-95

Hudson Valley, State Senate:

Michelle Hinchey, SD-41

Hudson Valley, State Assembly:

Jonathan Jacobson, AD-104
Didi Barrett, AD-106

Capital Region, State Assembly:

John McDonald, AD-108
Phil Steck, AD-110
Angelo Santabarbara, AD-111


Central and Western New York, State Senate:

Rachel May, SD-48
Lea Webb, SD-52
Samra Brouk, SD-55
Jeremy Cooney, SD-56
Sean Ryan, SD-61

Central and Western New York, State Assembly:

Donna Lupardo, AD-123
Al Stirpe, AD-127
Pamela Hunter, AD-128
Jen Lunsford, AD-135
Harry Bronson, AD-138
William Conrad, AD-140
Patrick Burke, AD-142
Monica Wallace, AD-143

04.03.24 // AUTHOR: Devin Callahan //