In Second Round of Endorsements, NYLCV Throws Supports Behind 60 Candidates Statewide

by Peter Aronson

The New York League of Conservation Voters Gives Green has released a new round of bipartisan endorsements for candidates in the fall elections in New York City, Westchester, the Capital Region, and on Long Island.

In this latest round, the League endorsed a total of 60 candidates across the state who have shown strong support for environmental issues at a time when the impacts of climate change are increasingly evident every day.

“It is clear that the environment and climate change are moving up the ladder of issues that voters prioritize when choosing their candidate,” said NYLCV President Julie Tighe. “We are thrilled to endorse all these candidates for elected office. We are confident that they will all be strong advocates for clean energy, green jobs, and a healthier future, and we urge voters to support them in the upcoming election.”

While NYLCV endorsed a bipartisan slate of 23 candidates in races across Long Island, in an unprecedented move, the League is supporting just two incumbent candidates for Suffolk County Legislature – compared to 13 in the previous off-year election cycle – a direct reflection of the failure by lawmakers to pass the Suffolk County Water Quality Restoration Act, NYLCV’s top priority in the county. 

At their public hearing on July 25, just two legislators – Samuel Gonzalez (D) and Jason Richberg (D), who the League is endorsing – voted to place the water quality measure on the November ballot. 

“In one of the most cynical political maneuvers I’ve seen in a long time, the Suffolk County Legislature decided against empowering their constituents to fix the water quality crisis that is happening, quite literally, in their backyards,” Tighe said. “There is no time to waste when it comes to water quality and the health of Suffolk County residents, and so for the legislators who voted to go on recess from their responsibilities, NYLCV is choosing to recess their endorsements.” 

On Long Island, the League is also supporting Ed Romaine (R) for Suffolk County Executive, 12 candidates for the Nassau County Legislature, and eight Town Supervisors. 

In New York County, the NYLCV is proud to endorse Yusef Salaam (D) and Chris Banks (D) for NYC City Council. Both candidates, who are running in District 9 and 42, respectively, have committed to protecting our environment and promoting smart environmental policies if elected. 

In Westchester County, the League is throwing their support behind 12 candidates for County Legislature, two candidates for Mayor and six for Town Supervisor across the county.

In the Capital Region, NYLCV endorsed candidates for Albany County Executive, Albany County Comptroller, nine candidates for Albany County Legislature, and four candidates for Town Supervisor in municipalities across the region.

Here is a full list of the new endorsements in Westchester, Long Island and the Capital Region:

(* indicates the candidate is an incumbent.)

Long Island

Suffolk County Executive:

Ed Romaine (R)


Suffolk County Legislature:

Samuel Gonzalez (D)*

Jason Richberg (D)*


Nassau County Legislature:

Siela Bynoe (D)*

Carrié Solages (D)*

Debra Mule (D)*

Howard Kopel (R)*

John Giuffre (R)*
Delia DeRiggi-Whitton (D)*

Thomas McKevitt (R)*

John Ferretti (R)*

Arnie Drucker (D)*

Rose Walker (R)*

Joshua Lafazan (D)*

Michael Giangregorio (R)*


Town Supervisors, Suffolk County
Kathee Burke-Gonzalez (D), Town of East Hampton

Angie Carpenter (R)*, Town of Islip

Maria Moore (D), Town of Southampton

Al Krupski (D), Town of Southold

Dan Panico (R), Town of Brookhaven


Town Supervisors, Nassau County

Donald Clavin, Jr. (R)*, Town of Hempstead

Jon Kaiman (D), Town of North Hempstead

Joseph Saladino (R)*, Town of Oyster Bay


Westchester County

Westchester County Legislature

Erika Pierce (D)*

Margaret Cunzio (R)*

Vedat Gashi (D)*

Benjamin Boykin II (D)*
Nancy Barr (D)*

Catherine Parker (D)*
Jewel Williams Johnson (D)*

Emiljana Ulaj (D)
David Imamura (D)*

David Tubiolo (D)*
Ruth Walter (D)
Shanae Williams (D)



Vivian McKenzie (D)*, Peekskill

Brian Pugh (D)*, Croton-on-Hudson


Town Supervisor

Ellen Calves (D)*, Bedford

Richard Becker (D)*, Cortlandt

Paul Feiner (D)*, Greenburgh

Tony Goncalves (D), Lewisboro

Warren Lucas (R)*, North Salem

Kevin Hansan (D)*, Pound Ridge


Capital Region

Albany County Executive

Daniel McCoy (D)*


Albany County Comptroller
Susan Rizzo (D)*


Albany County Legislature

Matthew Peter (D)*

Samuel Fein (D)*

Lynne Lekakis (D)*

Alison McLean Lane (D)*

Ellen Rosano (D)*

Dustin Reidy (D)*

William Reinhardt (D)*

Matthew Miller (D)*


Schenectady County Legislature

Michelle Ostrelich (D)*


Town Supervisors
David VanLuven (D)*, Bethlehem

Peter Barber (D)*, Guilderland

Russel Pokorny (D)*, Knox

Jamie Puccioni (D)*, Niskayuna


This latest round brings the total number of NYLCV-endorsed candidates statewide to 108. Of the 48 candidates from the League’s first round of endorsements, which are listed here, 95% of them won their primary election.


Early voting for the general election runs from October 28 to November 5 and Election Day is on November 7. NYLCV will announce additional endorsements later this election season.